Love

A simple yet extremely complex word. Used constantly regarding food, clothes, people, pets, and all things. “Oh I love that recipe”. “I love your new outfit.” But seriously, what is love? Love encompasses everything. I’m sitting here on the couch. It’s 10:30 at night and my husband is playing his PlayStation while I catch up on my shows on Netflix. Most people would be bothered by his gameplay but he makes plenty of time for me. If I asked him right now to turn it off and watch something with me, he would, without hesitation. We have been married almost 16 years (this September) and I still adore this man. We have had some extremely hard times. Most recently was last year. However he is still my best friend. The one person I know I’m meant to spend all of my life with. He loves me and he loves his kids. He’s not perfect but neither am I. I feel like people give up to soon. I love this man more now than I ever did when we were dating or right when we got married. Till death do us part. That’s a vow I take seriously and so does he. He always makes me laugh when I’m feeling down even if he’s having a bad day. He tells me I’m beautiful when I don’t feel it. Sure, he’s done things that have made me cry and hurt me and I’ve done the same to him. We’ve grown up together, trying to figure out this life together. I watch him when he’s not looking and see his simple smile when one of our kids are talking to him. I watch him as he laughs at a movie I find completely stupid and literally fall in love with him all over again because of his smile and laughter. He’s one of those quiet types. Hard to get to know yet I know him, almost more than I do myself and he knows me the same. He said to me the other day when we were having lunch and I was talking about how I was feeling down and his reply was, “I want you to be Jen and whatever that is, I support you. Find hobbies that make you happy and I’ll have your back”. That’s my husband. Unconditional. At times when it was hard and I was ready to throw in the towel he wouldn’t let me give up and vice versa. I used to fight with the fact that we were so different. He’s fine sitting at home constantly and I want to go do something and he’s never stopped me. Just wants me to be happy and isn’t that what true love is? Wanting the other to be happy? I want him to be happy so sure, play your game babe because I know when I need you, you’ll turn it off and give me that look that’s says “I’m all yours”. Geez I love this man! Love is a simple word but takes a whole lot of work. It’s not a feeling but a choice and I choose to love this man with all of my heart here on earth and after. When you are going through hard times in your relationship, just know that nobodies perfect but loving them through those imperfections will make all the difference in the world. Here’s to my husband, best friend, childhood crush and soul mate. You have my heart and always have. I love you more today than yesterday but not as much as tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

